Professor Craig J. Hawker is Clarke Professor and holds the Alan and Ruth Heeger Chair of Interdisciplinary Science at UCSB where he co-directs the California NanoSystems Institute and the Dow Materials Institute.

Current affiliation:

Materials Research Laboratory, University of California, Santa Barbara

Google Schoolar or LinkedIn or Scopus Profile:

Craig Hawker




He came to UCSB in 2004 after eleven years as a Research Staff Member at the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, CA. Professor Hawker’s work has led to over 600 peer-reviewed papers and 80 patents with Professor Hawker helping to establish a range of start-up companies including Symyx, Intermolecular, Ilypsa, Relypsa and Olaplex. For his pioneering studies, Professor Hawker’s recent honors include the 2021 Kathryn C. Hach Award for Entrepreneurial Success from the American Chemical Society, the 2017 Charles Overberger International Prize, the 2013 ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry and the 2012 Centenary Prize from the Royal Society of Chemistry. Professor Hawker has been honored with election to the Royal Society as well as being named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Sciences.